Nipsey Hussle's anticipated debut album, Victory Lap, is finally here.

While this is technically his debut, Nipsey has been releasing music since his 2005 project, Slauson Boy. Since then he's dropped off several projects including  the Crenshaw project,  Proud 2 Pay and  Mailbox Money in 2014.  He's since signed a multi-album deal with Atlantic Records for his All Money In imprint, and now, his "debut" album has arrived.

"I always felt like when I get the album out, [a label deal] would be the next move, so I spent a while making this album," he explained to UPROXX in a recent interview. "It always feels like the stars line up when you put music out. Sometime’s it’s bigger than others but when I say, 'I’m done,' I think my track record has been quality, so people like, ‘If he ready to present it, it’s gone be some fire on there, because he ain’t gone present it if it ain’t fire.'"

The 16-track project is stacked with high-profile features, including appearances from CeeLo, Stacy Barthe, YG, Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius, Diddy, Dom Kennedy and more. He says that he was especially excited to work with three in particular.

"I got three of the rappers I respect the most on the album," he told XXL. "It's other songwriters and R&B singers that I collabed with, but I shared verses with three artists. Each one gave me something classic. I know people throw that word around real frivolous, but I feel like everybody stepped up to the occasion and gave me an A-level verse. I'm excited about it. I feel like if you love hip-hop, this is a tribute to the legacy of rap music. Dope beats, dope lyrics, real stories—underdog came from nothing. Did it his way. This album is the brand of what we represent."​

You can take a listen to the album below.


More From TheBoombox