Over the last 15 years, Duck Down Records has released some of the hardest independent-minded hip-hop in history. How to celebrate? Well, some of the label's biggest artists have just embarked on an anniversary tour to celebrate such a long tenure. It's a stacked bill, featuring Pharoahe Monch, Buckshot, Sean Price, Smif N Wessun, Skyzoo and DJ Evil Dee. The festivities kicked off last night in Tampa and will roll up the East Coast to Boston before concluding on October 24.

"[It's an] incredible feeling to see that 15 years later, the original architects of Buckshot and Smif n Wessun are on this tour," Duck Down CEO Dru Ha recently told All Hip-Hop. "Combined with the new label additions of Pharoahe & Skyzoo and of course everyone's favorite in Sean Price, this tour will be focused on the art and pride of putting on a quality stage show. Ultimately the ability to do it as one unit under the Duck Down name allows us to share a vision we worked towards for many years."

What's cool about the anniversary tour is that nearly every performer has new material to debut. This is no nostalgia act. Monch is still working on 'W.A.R. (We Are Renegades)' and Skyzoo is ripping new songs from 'Live from the Tape,' while Smif N Wessun are featuring material from their Pete Rock-produced 'Monumental.' Duck Down leader Buckshot is repping 'The Solution,' which has production from 9th Wonder, and Sean Price unleashes his lyrical madness with music from 'Mic Tyson' and his recent group effort 'Random Axe.'

Simply put, if you like hip-hop with less gloss and more lyricism, then this is a must-see tour. Scope the full dates here.

More From TheBoombox