R&B songbirds Tamar Braxton, Janelle Monae and K. Michelle were among the winners at the 2013 Soul Train Awards. The event took place in Las Vegas Saturday (Nov. 8) with actor Anthony Anderson serving as host.

Tamar nabbed three honors: Best R&B/Soul Female Artist, Song of the Year for 'Love & War' and the Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s award. The R&B mom later performed a three-song set that included her latest single, 'All the Way Home.'

Elsewhere, Janelle Monae won the prestigious Video of the Year award for her futuristic clip 'Q.U.E.E.N.' (featuring Erykah Badu). And K. Michelle also grabbed the Best New Artist trophy and performed as well.

Other winners of the night included Robin Thicke who nabbed Song of the Year for 'Blurred Lines' and Ashanti for Best Independent R&B/Soul Performance for 'Never Should Have.'

Other honorees included Keith Sweat who received the Lifetime Achievement Award and later performed 'Make It Last Forever’ with Faith Evans.

Dionne Warwick was bestowed the Legend Award which was preceded with a tribute medley performed by Ron Isley ('Alfie'), Ruben Studdard ('A House is Not a Home'), Chrisette Michelle ('Walk on By') and Gladys Knight ('Anyone Who Had a Heart'). Afterward, the aforementioned performers came together onstage to sing Warwick’s 1985 Grammy-winning single, 'That’s What Friends Are For.'

Among the highlights at the Soul Train Awards included Jennifer Hudson, who kicked off the show with a medley of new and old hits featuring Evelyn "Champagne" King, Chaka Khan and rapper T.I.

Mint Condition’s Stokley Williams graced the stage with Wale to perform a rendition of Marvin Gaye’s 'Inner City Blues,’ which segued into 'Love Hate Thing.'

There was also a "Blue-Eyed Soul" segment featuring Jon B. singing 'They Don’t Know,' Bobby Caldwell (with saxophonist Dave Koz) performing 'What You Won't Do' and Vanilla Ice rapping 'Ice Ice Baby.'

Finally, there was an old-school hip-hop medley that featured Warren G rapping 'Regulate' and performances from rap legends Big Daddy Kane and Slick Rick who performed 'The Show' with Doug E. Fresh.

The full list of winners and performances will be presented when the Soul Train Awards airs on BET and Centric TV on Dec. 1 at 8PM ET.

More From TheBoombox