As SXSW Music kicked off and Interactive drew to a close, Matthew Dear headlined Pitchfork's Interactive showcase at the Mohawk, while Miike Snow drew fans to Media Temple's closing party for Interactive at Stubb's BBQ, Spinner reports.

Pitchfork's powerhouse lineup included electronic acts Trust, Tycho, Schlohmo, Sun Araw, Light Asylum and Teengirl Fantasy on two stages, and up-and-coming rappers Schoolboy Q -- with Black Hippy members Jay Rock and Ab-Soul -- and Mr. Muthaf---in' eXquire -- and his entire crew.

Headlining the event, Matthew Dear turned in the best live set we've seen from him yet, his five-piece band churning the crowd with an almost post-punk fervor, performing past favorites like 'Slowdance' and 'You Put a Smell on Me,' as well as his recent single 'Headcage.'

Schoolboy Q, sans A$AP Rocky, performed an a cappella version of 'Brand New Guy,' off the latter's 2011 mixtape 'Live.Love.A$AP.' The West Coast MC also grabbed the mic for 'Hands On the Wheel,' which showcased Ab-Soul and Jay Rock rapping guest verses. Black Hippy member Kendrick Lamar wasn't in attendance but the crew repped for hip-hop in his absence.

Schlomo also impressed with a great opening set, evoking Holy Other, Sepalcure and others of that melodic, haunting bass ilk.

Across the street at Stubbs, Miike Snow played an equally impassioned set, rocking hits from their debut like 'Sylvia,' 'Animal' and 'Burial,' as well as some new songs like 'Paddling Out' and 'Devil's Work.'

Watch 'Learn About the History of Rap'

#fivemin-widget-blogsmith-image-702693{display:none;} .cke_show_borders #fivemin-widget-blogsmith-image-702693, #postcontentcontainer #fivemin-widget-blogsmith-image-702693{width:476px;height:357px;display:block;}
Learn About the History of Rap