Detroit hip-hop group Slum Village has had it rough over the past few years, having lost members J Dilla and Baatin as well as dealing with label changes and personal troubles. But after 13 years since the 1997 release of their debut album 'Fan-Tas-Tic (Vol. 1),' the group is calling it a day. According to founding member T3, Slum Village plans to disband following the release of their next full-length album, 'Villa Manifest.'

"[O]h yeah one more thing ... This is the last Slum Village Album ... ," T3 tweeted last night. "Not sure what's going on ... ," tweeted fellow member Elzhi. "I hope Slum Village's label and T3's manager respect what I do for SV. Either way I appreciate yall support."

Baatin, T3 and J Dilla, all of whom grew up together in Detroit's Conant Gardens, originally formed the group in the mid-'90s. After makind a name for themselves in the underground rap circuit 'Fan-Tas-Tic (Vol. 1)', SV released their official debut 'Fantastic, Vol. 2' in 2000 after fielding label politics. 'Trinity (Past, Present and Future)' followed, but member Baatin was kicked out of the group after he was diagnosed with schizophrenia and continued to release solo records before passing away in 2009.

Dilla left the group around 2000, leaving T3 to carry the SV name on his own. But instead of pursuing a solo career, he enlisted Elzhi to continue the group as a twosome. Following the death of Jay Dee in 2006, Slum Village added his brother Illa J to the group, though no new studio album surfaced from the trio.

The group's final album will be released via E1 Records on July 27. SV's sixth studio release will feature verses from T3, Elzhi and Baatin, as well as four guest verses and production from J Dilla. 'Villa Manifesto' also features guest appearances from Dwele, Little Brother, Colin Munroe, De La Soul and Phife Dawg, and also features production from Young RJ, Supa Dave West, DJ Khalil, Mr. Porter and more. A track from the project, 'Lock It Down', has already been released.

More From TheBoombox