It may be almost three years since Kanye West released his single 'Stronger' off his third album 'Graduation,' but a Virginia man who claims to have written some of the lyrics to the smash has decided to finally take legal action. Vincent Peters, whose rapping alias is Vince P., recently filed a federal copyright infringement lawsuit against the Chicago emcee, Roc-a-Fella Records and UMG Recordings, claiming that the Grammy-winning single 'copies significant and important parts of Peters' lyrics identically or almost identically' from a song he had written and recorded in 2006.

Peters alleges that he passed off a copy of his song to John Monopoly, Kanye's manager, in order to convince him to serve as executive producer on his album. Seven months after the deal fell through, Peters states that West released the single, which supposedly stole the phrases "that which does not kill me makes me stronger," "can't wait much longer" and the word "wronger."

The suit demands an unspecified amount in damages and that West and the label cease distribution and performance of the song in addition to destroying any copies they may have of the single in their possession. This isn't the first time that Kanye has been sued for a song off of his 2007 album.Songwriter Dayna Staggs (also known as D'Mystro) filed suit against West in 2008 for stealing bits of his tune 'Volume of Good Life' for Kanye's hit 'Good Life.'

Kanye West, 'Stronger'

'Stronger,' the single released from 'Graduation' after 'Can't Tell Me Nothing', samples Daft Punk's 'Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger' and became a huge hit upon release. The track, which went three times platinum, won the 2008 Grammy Award for Best Rap Solo Performance as well as the number one record of 2007 by 'Spin' magazine. Its parent album was met with sparkling reviews, winning the Grammy for Best Rap Album and selling upwards of two million copies.

Kanye, who has been in self-imposed exile since crashing the stage at the 2009 MTV Music Awards, has been hard at work on his fifth album 'Good Ass Job.' The album, led by the single 'Power,' features production from Q-Tip, Pete Rock, No I.D., RZA, DJ Premier, Madlib and more and is slated for release on September 14.