Rapper Dave East took to instagram to announce that he's signed to Def Jam.

Before thanking Def Jam, the New York artist made sure to thank Nas, who signed him first to Mass Appeal Records, when he came out of prison. Mass Appeal Records and the new deal will continue as a partnership with the media company.

East was also on The Breakfast Club this morning to announce his signing to the major label. He explained why he decided to take the deal during his interview in New York.

"Honestly, because it wasn't the average, me just signing to a major. I'm actually partners with them, Mass Appeal is still the family, Nas is still gon' be able to executive produce my albums," he said. "So it was just a step forward for me. I was with Mass Appeal solely for almost two years, Nas really introduced the world to me,a lot of people to me, so that was ideal as far as me first coming in. I feel like it's at a time now where I need a machine-- I'm not gunna say 'need,' but it helps, a machine really helps, what I'm tryna do. Especially being from New York and not tryna stay in New York. I'm not tryna be underground or classified as a certain type of dude."
The rapper is currently prepping his debut album, Kairi Chanel, for which he revealed the cover art and tracklist quite recently. The album is set to drop this month. Check out the tracklist below.
1. It Was Written
2. Type Of Time
3. Again
4. Can't Ignore Feat. 2 Chainz
5. Sending My Love Feat. Seven Streeter
6. 30 Niggaz
7. Keisha
8. Eyes On Me Feat. Fabolous
9. SDE Feat. Cam'Ron
10. Don Pablo
11. The Only Thing
12. The Real Is Back Feat. Beanie Sigel
13. Slow Down Feat. Jay Amra
14. Don't Shoot
15. Bad Boy On Death Row Feat. The Game

20 Best Singles of 2016… So Far

More From TheBoombox