New Edition got a fitting tribute at the 2017 BET Awards.

The six-man group (which famously consists of Ralph Tresvant, Johnny Gill, Ricky Bell, Ronnie DeVoe, Mike Bivins and R&B bad boy Bobby Brown) was honored with the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award at this year's show at the

The tribute began with the cast of the forthcoming Girl Trip (Jada Pinkett-Smith, Tiffany Haddish, Regina Hall and Queen Latifah) announcing N.E. as honorees. Then the guys watched as the cast from BET's hit mini-series The New Edition Story each performed tribute to the group and it's individual members--who all saw success via solo careers.

The young actors who played the group in it's earliest days performed their bubblegum breakthrough hit "Candy Girl," with Algee Smith taking the stage to sing Ralph's hit "Sensitivity," followed by R&B crooner Luke James tackling Johnny's classic "My, My My." Woody McClain brought energy and gusto to his performance of "My Prerogative," Bobby Brown's infamous theme song. And Bryshere Gray, Keith Powers and Elijah Kelly finished things off with BBD's "Poison."

New Edition then took the stage themselves to thank the fans and their families for the honor and for their careers. Bobby acknowledged "I been through a lotta s---" and Johnny thanked God for holding things together. But Ronnie got real about surviving as New Edition.

"30-plus years in the music industry will chew you up and spit you out, but all six of us are standing onstage right now. What an amazing thing," he said.

Despite an awkward transition as the honorees switched into their "work clothes" (in this case, matching white bedazzled suits), the vets took the stage with gusto, ripping through hits like "Mr. Telephone Man" and "Can You Stand the Rain" before the cast rejoined them onstage for a gigantic "family" performance.

Check out N.E.'s performance in the video above.

Watch The History of New Edition Supercut:

21st Annual American Music Awards - Press Room

More From TheBoombox