On September 21, John Legend will unveil his new covers album 'Wake Up!' which has been produced entirely by the Roots. The collaborative project -- which originally began as an idea to create one single track -- will feature a collection of socially-conscious songs from the 60s and 70s era that have been re-worked by the six-time Grammy winner.

The eleven-track album will feature ten remakes of classic songs that include, Marvin Gaye's 'Wholly Holy,' Donny Hathaway's 'Little Ghetto Boy,' and Mike James Kirkland's 'Hang on in There.' 'Wake Up!' will also feature one original track from John Legend called 'Shine,' which will appear in Davis Guggenheim's upcoming documentary 'Waiting for Superman.' Legend has explained that the new project found its' roots in the 2008 presidential election campaign, which inspired both him and the Roots to create a body of work promoting change and activism. The album's first single will be a rendition of Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes' 'Wake Up Everybody,' featuring Common and Melanie Fiona.

John Legend has had a long working relationship with the Roots, and he is featured on the group's latest album, 'How I Got Over,' which hit stores on June 22. Legend will appear at the BET Awards on Sunday, June 27, where he will be honored with the Humanitarian Award for his 'Show Me Campaign.'