John Legend and the Roots will debut 11 tracks on their collaborative album 'Wake Up!' which will be released on September 21.

The covers album -- produced exclusively by the Roots -- will feature remakes of 10 classic songs by artists including Marvin Gaye, Bill Withers, Donny Hathaway and Mike James, in addition to Legend's original track 'Shine,' which will appear in the upcoming Davis Guggenheim documentary 'Waiting for Superman.'

The album's first single, 'Wake Up Everybody' is a rendition of Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes' 1975 classic, which features contributions from Common and Melanie Fiona. Legend has explained that the socially-conscious songs he handpicked from the 60s and 70s-era are very much representative of ongoing struggles.

"These songs sound so relevant now," Legend said in a statement. "On most of them, you wouldn't change a lyric. 'Wake Up Everybody' had four verses -- the first one is a general statement, the second is about education, third is about health care, and the fourth is about making a better environment. No editing needed."

According to Rap-Up, the complete tracklisting for 'Wake Up!' is as follows:

1. 'Compared to What'

2. 'Hard Times'

3. 'Little Ghetto Boy'

4. 'Wake Up Everybody' (featuring Common and Melanie Fiona)

5. 'Our Generation'

6. 'Love the Way It Should Be'

7. 'Hang On in There'

8. 'I Can't Write Left Handed'

9. 'Wholy Holy'

10. 'I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free'

11. 'Shine'