The power of giving is real. Who doesn't love free music? Chance the Rapper and the Social Experiment continue the trend of dropping surprise projects by electing to release their highly anticipated album Surf this week without warning.

The rapper helps to introduce trumpet player Nico Segal aka Donnie Trumpet on the release, which hit iTunes (May 28) and is available without charge. Trumpet leads the LP, which is a collective of solid instrumentation, smart songwriting and, you guessed it, winning experimentation.


Earlier this week, Chance toyed with the idea of dropping the album. Fans salivated at the idea and can now dive in and enjoy the 16-track effort. The feature-laden LP boasts appearances from Erykah Badu, Janelle Monae, J.Cole, Big Sean, Jeremih, Raury, King Louie, Francis and the Lights, and more.

Songs like "Slip Slide" are a marching band celebration as Busta Rhymes gives an assist on the lyrical tip. "This is whole planet belongs to me / We all feel the same so it belongs to we," he raps over the lively beat. "Nothing Came to Me" is a somber ode that is void of lyrics, allowing Donnie Trumpet to shine solo. On "Questions," a woman with an ethereal voice asks some of the things that rack our brains like "why some of us get to heaven too soon," and "Sunday Candy" finds Chance waxing poetic about taking his "butt to church."

Check out the track list below and get the project for free here. 

Donnie Trumpet & the Social Experiment's Surf Track List

1. "Miracle"
2. "Slip Slide"
3. "Warm Enough”
4. "Nothing Came to Me"
5. "Wanna Be Cool"
6. "Windows"
7. "Caretaker"
8. "Just Wait"
9. "Familiar"
10. "SmthnthtIwnt"
11. "Go"
12. "Questions"
13. "Something Came to Me”
14. "Rememory"
15. "Sunday Candy"
16. "Pass the Vibes"

Listen to Donnie Trumpet & the Social Experiment's Surf 

See 20 Words That Mean Something Completely Different in Hip-Hop