Janet Jackson is having a triumphant comeback year and now she can add NAACP Image Award nominations to her list of accomplishments as well. The "Control" singer leads in the Recording category with a whopping six nominations, including Outstanding Album for Unbreakable. Fellow artists the Weeknd, Jill Scott and Pharrell Williams all racked up four mentions each.

Jackson's "No Sleep," featuring J. Cole, proved to be a favorite this year and for the NAACP Image Awards the song is up for Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration, Outstanding Song (Contemporary) and Outstanding Music Video. Meanwhile, the Weeknd grabbed nods for Outstanding Male Artist, Outstanding Music Video (for "Can't Feel My Face") and Outstanding Album for his latest effort, Beauty Behind the Madness. Scott also gained some headway with her mentions in the categories of Outstanding Female Artist, Outstanding Song for "Back Together" and Outstanding Album for Woman.

But Pharrell might be the one who takes home the show's most coveted honor as he received a mention for Entertainer of the Year. The N.E.R.D. producer has some stiff competition in that category as entertainers from different fields of arts & entertainment are also nominated like actor Michael B. Jordan, ballerina Misty Copeland, showrunner Shonda Rhimes and actress Viola Davis.

Newbies are also getting some shine. Singers Andra Day and Judith Hill and Empire stars Jussie Smollett and Yazz will compete for Outstanding New Artist.

Speaking of Empire, Fox's hit drama series nabbed 13 nominations mostly in the Television, Recording and Writing categories.

The 47th annual NAACP Image Awards will air live from Los Angeles on TV One on Feb. 5 at 9PM ET.

Check out the musical nominees below and read the entire nominee list at naacpimageawards.net.


Michael B. Jordan
Misty Copeland
Pharrell Williams
Shonda Rhimes
Viola Davis

Outstanding New Artist

Andra Day (Warner Bros. Records)
Judith Hill (NPG Records)
Jussie Smollett (Columbia Records)
The Weeknd (Republic Records)
Yazz (Columbia Records)

Outstanding Male Artist

Charlie Wilson (RCA Records)
Kendrick Lamar (Top Dawg Entertainment/Aftermath/Interscope)
Pharrell Williams (Columbia Records/iamOTHER)
The Weeknd (Republic Records)
Tyrese Gibson (Voltron Recordz)

Outstanding Female Artist

Janet Jackson (Rhythm Nation/BMG)
Jazmine Sullivan (RCA Records)
Jill Scott (Atlantic Records)
Lalah Hathaway (Hathaway Entertainment/Entertainment One)
Lauryn Hill (RCA Records)

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration

"Conqueror" - Empire Cast feat. Estelle & Jussie Smollett (Columbia Records)
"Hamilton: An American Musical" - Original Broadway Cast (Atlantic Records)
"No Sleeep" - Janet Jackson feat. J. Cole (Rhythm Nation/BMG)
"One Man Can Change the World" - Big Sean feat. Kanye West and John Legend (G.O.O.D. Music/Def Jam Recordings)
"Sound & Color" - Alabama Shakes (ATO Records)

Outstanding Jazz Album

"BrotherLEE Love: Celebrating Lee Morgan" - Terell Stafford Quintet (Capri Records)
"Dee Dee's Feathers" - Dee Dee Bridgewater, Irvin Mayfield, New Orleans Jazz Orchestra (Okeh)
"Miles Davis at Newport 1955-1975: The Bootleg Series Vol. 4" - Miles Davis (Columbia/Legacy Recordings)
"The Complete Concert By The Sea" - Erroll Garner (Legacy Recordings/Octave Music Publishing Corporation)
"The Epic" - Kamasi Washington (Brainfeeder)

Outstanding Gospel Album - (Traditional or Contemporary)

A Different Place - Kim Burrell (Shanachie Entertainment)
It's Personal - Tina Campbell (Gee Tree Creative)
Losing My Religion - Kirk Franklin (RCA Inspiration)
The Gospel According To Jazz - Chapter IV - Kirk Whalum (Mack Avenue Records - Rendezvous, (Top Drawer Records)
You Shall Live - Marvin Sapp (RCA Inspiration)

Outstanding Music Video

"Can't Feel My Face" - The Weeknd (Republic Records)
"Freedom" - Pharrell Williams (Columbia Records/iamOTHER)
"No Sleeep" - Janet Jackson feat. J. Cole (Rhythm Nation/BMG)
"Shame" - Tyrese Gibson (Voltron Recordz)
"Sound & Color" - Alabama Shakes (ATO Records)

Outstanding Song – Traditional

"Back Together" - Jill Scott (Atlantic Records)
"Everytime I'm With You" - Seal (Reprise Records)
"Feeling Good" - Lauryn Hill (RCA Records)
"Goodnight Kisses" - Charlie Wilson (RCA Records)
"Let It Burn" - Jazmine Sullivan (RCA Records)

Outstanding Album

Beauty Behind the Madness - The Weeknd (Republic Records)
Empire (Original Soundtrack from Season One)" - Empire Cast (Columbia Records)
Forever Charlie - Charlie Wilson (RCA Records)
Unbreakable - Janet Jackson (Rhythm Nation/BMG)
Woman - Jill Scott (Atlantic Records)

Outstanding Song – Contemporary

"Conqueror" - Empire Cast feat. Estelle & Jussie Smollett (Columbia)
"Freedom" - Pharrell Williams (Columbia Records/iamOTHER)
"No Sleeep" - Janet Jackson feat. J. Cole (Rhythm Nation/BMG)
"Unbreakable" - Janet Jackson (Rhythm Nation/BMG)
"You're So Beautiful" - Empire Cast feat. Jussie Smollett & Yazz (Columbia Records)

Check out the 20 Best Hip-Hop Albums of 2015